We are all unique, made up of the same elements in different proportions. In Ayurvedic Medicine an elegant terminology exists to describe the energies made up of elements that constitute to an individual’s physiology and psychology. These Energies of the Body are called the 3 Doshas: Vata, Pitta, Kapha

Functions and Qualities of Doshas:


The energy of all movement in the physiology; in the body composed of elements:

Air & Space

Function – circulation, respiration, pulsation of the heart, blinking, muscle and joint movement, all the movement of cytoplasm, communication between neurons (nervous system), it governs all nervous functions, controls the mind, senses and motor organs.

Gunas (qualities of Vata)

Dry, light, cold, rough, subtle, mobile, clear


The energy of transformation; in the body composed of elements:

Fire & Water

Function – digestion (hunger, appetite, taste, thirst), body temperature, chemical transformations, visual perception, reasoning capacity, processing sensory impressions, learning (understanding), reasoning capacity.

Gunas (qualities of Pitta)

Oily, hot, sharp, light, liquid, spreading, mobile.


The energy of strength, cohesion and stability in the physiology; in the body composed of elements:

Earth & Water

Function – lubrication, nourishment, growth, stability, ground mass, water – electrolyte balance, energy, sleep, strength endurance, fat regulation, memory retention, taste and olfactory perception, Kapha molecules hug together to create mass.

Gunas (qualities of Kapha)

Heavy, slow/dull, cool, liquid, smooth, dense, soft, static, sticky, cloudy, hard, gross, slimy.

The three doshas when in balance, sustain perfect human health.

Take the dosha quiz below and see your results.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.